Skip to content

Mount Pleasant Waterworks



About Us

Mount Pleasant Waterworks (MPW) strives to be a trusted leader in the community and the water industry. Its mission is
to provide water services of exceptional quality, value, and reliability while protecting public health, safety, and the
environment. The Commissioners and employees of MPW are committed to HONESTY: in all actions by employees and Commissioners; FAIRNESS: to their customers, employees, and other stakeholders; QUALITY: of their products, services, and processes; and INNOVATION: by seeking positive change. MPW also adheres to a set of strategic goals that are grouped into four categories: financial
viability, workforce development, customer service, and operational excellence.

MPW is governed by seven Commissioners: five elected by the public for staggered terms of six years plus the Mayor and the Chairman of the Water Supply Committee of Town Council. This seven-member body constitutes the Commissioners of Public Works of the Town of Mount Pleasant. The South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control (SCDHEC) has regulatory control over the Commission’s water and wastewater activities. Mount Pleasant Waterworks is empowered by South Carolina Code Section 5-3-210.


  • Operates four reverse osmosis water plants
  • Maintains 591 miles of water distribution lines
  • Operates two water resource facilities
  • Maintains 526 miles of wastewater collection lines
  • Maintains 165 pump stations


Gallery Image 5c6ebbdaf033bf5b3298c87c_pl1.jpg

Scroll To Top